facebookYou Tubefeedfeedfeed
Deutsche Version

Freiburg International Violin Competition

Rainer Kussmaul, who has taught a now legendary violin class at the Musikhochschule Freiburg since 1977, serves as president and head of the jury of this classical violin competition. The other jury members are the violin professors Ulf Hoelscher (Karlsruhe), John Holloway (Dresden), Takumi Kubota (Tokyo), Hu Kun (London), and Sergej Kravchenko (Moscow), as well as the music critic Alexander Dick (Freiburg).

The competition is funded by the State of Baden-Württemberg. Prizes include a 15,000 euro first price, a second and third prize worth 10,000 and 7,500 euros, respectively, as well as several special prizes. Recitals with the prize winners in the region Freiburg/Basel/Colmar are planned.

A special feature of this new violin competition - an indirect successor to the Ludwig Spohr Violin Competition, which took place in Freiburg beginning in 1977 - is the fact that the third of a total of four rounds is performed with a chamber orchestra and soloists who also conduct.

The contest has taken place twice so far. The next contest is scheduled for fall 2017.

Winners 2014

Rosanne Philippens (Netherlands) won the first prize and also the prize of the Philharmonic Orchestra: a concert with the Philharmonic Orchestra.

The second prize went to 25-year-old Nitzan Bartana (Israel). She also received the special prize (2.500 Euro) for the best interpretation of a Mozart violin concert.

The third prize went to Angelo de Leo (Germany).

Winners 2010

1st prize: Itamar Zormann (Israel)

2nd prize: Elena Graf (Germany)

3rd prize: Martin Yavryan (Armenia)

Special prize for the best interpretation of a Mozart violin concert. Itamar Zormann

Special prize best young performer: Milena Wilke (Freiburg/Germany) 

Picture Gallery 2010

  • 1
  • 11
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 12
Imprint |